QUICK DRAW for Lilla Rogers’s “Global Talent Search” contest!

Standard
My submission for the Global Talent Search contest!

My submission for the Global Talent Search contest!

What the heck do you do when you are up to your ears in paid freelance, your only daughter is having her 10th birthday, school just started, and you realize you don’t have a heck of a lot of time to devote to submit an illustration for Lilla Rogers “Global Talent Search” contest?

Well…

… after you are done dry heaving…

… you go with what you can do WELL and QUICKLY.

For me that means getting out my caricature supplies (quick-sketch markers) and pre-scanned watercolor textures and just PRAY that something goes right!

I JUST finished submitting my piece for the contest.

Is it a masterpiece? Most likely not.

But do I kinda like it? Yeah, I think I do.

I have to move onto my product design freelance now, but before I do, I thought it would be fun to finally add another post in my blog, here (it’s been a while).

The good thing is that we were to design something to go on a sneaker. A sneaker is a pretty casual piece of footwear, so it seemed fitting that casual would work for this project. And if the judges hate it, OH WELL.

My piece still ended up going through a metamorphosis from first idea to end result. I realized when it came down to it that I would have to do something that was FAST, but something I could not get too stressed about while working on it. Decided to have FUN with it. The demographic we were meant to design the sneakers for seemed like a trendy, cultured girl who likes trendy colors, vintage art/design and likes to write in her journal. We also had to have at least one word on the design. For some reason it seemed to fit to design a pair of sneakers that had quote(s) from Alice in Wonderland. I originally planned to have a pattern with elements of sketched animals from the story to look vintage – but who has time for that, eh?

In the end, I had to go with my tried and true markers and just decided to design a pattern of quotes instead – with some minor elements of decorative imagery form my original plan (playing card icons, swishes, dots, etc).

My final piece.

My final piece.

Below is the original sketch idea.

My first sketch - wanted to fit the sneaker shape - but it wasn't working once I added it to the digital mockup - and had to start over from scratch.

My first sketch – wanted to fit the sneaker shape – but it wasn’t working once I added it to the digital mockup – and had to start over from scratch.

So I was able to upload my piece onto the contest site with only TEN MINUTES to spare. That’s cutting it a little too close!!

I will consider it a miracle if I actually make it through this first round. We’ll see what happens. Happy that at least I have plenty of work coming my way right now.

It’s a VERY good thing to be this busy!

Leave a comment