The Googuwams and the Vanishing Moon ~ My newest illustrated project published!

Standard

THUMBNAIL_IMAGEA couple years ago, my friend Dawn Richerson visited Cleveland and I was grateful to get the chance to meet with her in person at long last. She spoke to me about her husband’s writing projects and I was intrigued. I loved the concepts and enjoyed the idea about collaborating on Tim’s first picture book! At the time I was looking for ways to further develop my portfolio with more personal projects and looking for ways to explore new Photoshop techniques.

I was thrilled today to receive my complimentary copy of Tim Richerson’s The Googuwams and the Vanishing Moon. This was a project I’d been working on for quite a while. Picture books are always a huge undertaking, and even though I tried to cut corners by using a simple character design and reusing background imagery and textures, there seems to ultimately be no way to really make the production of 28 full-color illustrations a quick and simple task (DUH! Live and learn!).

It sure is wonderful to see my work in final print, I must say. And since I plan to use CreateSpace.com for my next full-color picture book, I’m happy to see the quality of CreateSpace seems to work well for full color after all.

Here is a sneak peek at a few of my favorite illustrations from the book. It’s an educational yet entertaining story about the lunar eclipse!

Leave a comment